wallkrot.blogg.se

Wd my book 3tb
Wd my book 3tb









wd my book 3tb

Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB (USB 2.0) Western Digital My Book Essential 3TB (USB 3.0) I’d say the tradeoff is worth it given the tremendous difference in heat however. Seagate is over 25% faster for sequential reads and writes over USB 3.0. The performance of the My Book Essential isn’t nearly as good as what we saw with the GoFlex Desk. WD’s SmartWare utility does let you seamlessly lock and unlock the drive across both Windows and OS X however.

#WD MY BOOK 3TB DRIVER#

Western Digital doesn’t bundle a NTFS Mac driver so you’ll need to reformat the NTFS formatted drive for write use on a Mac (or supply your own NTFS driver for OS X). Like Seagate, Western Digital supplies software with the drive to manage the drive and backups. Here’s the drive at idle and after over an hour of use:

wd my book 3tb

A pair of rubber feet prop the drive up a few millimeters off of the ground to allow air in from below.The ventilation story is a lot better than what I encountered with the GoFlex Desk.Īs a result, temperature is a non-issue. To make sure the drive never gets too hot Western Digital has a grate that runs along the top, spine and bottom of the My Book Essential.

wd my book 3tb

Remember the Caviar Green is a 4 platter sub-6000 RPM drive compared to the 5-platter 7200 RPM design in the GoFlex Desk, so temperatures should inherently be lower. The first thing I wanted to test with the My Book Essential was how well it kept the drive cool. Obviously USB 3.0 is backwards compatible with USB 2.0 on the host connector side. Unlike Seagate’s GoFlex Desk, the My Book Essential doesn’t have an option for interfaces: USB 3.0 is all you get. Western Digital also sent along the My Book Essential, an external version of the 3TB Caviar Green.











Wd my book 3tb